My Son is a Deadhead.

In an ongoing effort to keep T from having terrible taste in music, his father and I play him records from our vinyl collection.  At six months old, he already has very discerning taste. For example, he doesn’t care for Ted Nugent, but he likes the Amboy Dukes (Nugent’s first band).  He loves Black Sabbath’s Paranoid, but he doesn’t like Never Say Die!, the last album featuring Ozzy as lead singer.  We’ve been through several Bowie albums and thoroughly enjoyed lazing on a Sunday afternoon with the Kink Kronikles.  But there are three albums that T particularly enjoys.

Rumors by Fleetwood Mac

Yeah, this is pretty much the best.

This is the Fleetwood Mac album that everyone owns.  This is the Fleetwood Mac album that everyone SHOULD own. There is not a bad song on this album, even “Oh Daddy” has grown on me.  I can get Truman to sleep by the middle of Side A, then I flip it over and listen to the other side just for my own personal enjoyment. If he manages to stay awake for Side B, he really loves it when we listen to “The Chain” and twirl around with a tambourine a la Stevie Nicks . Rumors is as if someone took a rainbow and pressed it to vinyl.  Thunder only happens when it rains indeed.

The Red Headed Stranger- Willie Nelson

We love you Willie!

Truman has listened to this album from the day he was born.  This is Dad Chad’s secret weapon in putting Baby T in a chillaxed mood.  At this point Truman has an almost Pavlovian response to this album.  From the opening guitar strains, his eyes slowly start closing and he is on the fast track to sleepytime village.  It would be downright criminal if Truman grew up not being a Willie Nelson fan.  This is not an exaggeration, it is Texas state law –THOU MUST LOVE WILLIE.

  •                                    American Beauty- Grateful Dead


Hands down this is Truman’s favorite album right now. It is probably Grateful Dead’s most popular and well known album.  That’s because it is overflowing with WIN, and just like Fleetwood Mac’s Rumors, there is not a bad song on the album.   I play it for him and he rolls around the carpet and grins. We listen to it almost every day.  I’m raising a little Deadhead! I am going to buy him some tie-dyed onesies and a baby hacky sack. We will drive around the country selling beaded necklaces out a van painted with dancing bears!  It is a fool proof plan! What can I say?  He has good taste in music.

Music education! YES!  I don’t have many obscure albums, magical bootlegs, or ~~deep cuts~~, just damn good music. I have to combat the fact that the number one hit when T was born was “Party Rock Anthem” by LMFAO.  o__o  So, what will we listen to next?  I finally picked up Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk and David Bowie’s Young Americans last weekend.  Tusk is a double album, we’ve got some listening to do.

https://twitter.com/#!/_MLC_

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Son is a Deadhead.

  1. Bernadette says:

    Love it:), great music, we pull much vinyl we saved from our childhood and play them for the boys too, your son is lucky to have parents that have such great taste in music. So much great music being made when we were growing up, and me being an ex-dead head tour gal, I love it,beads, patchwork and all, thanks for taking me back:)

  2. This cracked me up! My Mother thought The Beatles were awful. I just learned to use headphones. Bet your little one will do the same! LOL!!!

    Bill Austin Howe
    http://www.wahjr56.blogspot.com

  3. Candice says:

    I clearly don’t have children, but my puppies are HUGE fans of Explosions in the Sky and The Album Leaf. Similar one way tickets to sleepytown.

  4. Trish says:

    Hi, Letty, I’m in the same Austin’s Bloggers FB group which is how I came across your blog. Sounds like you’re having so much fun introducing music to your little guy! It will be fun for you to see how his musical tastes develop through the years. I’m partial to Fleetwood Mac, myself. 🙂

    Trish
    http://www.robertssister.com
    caregiving. family. advocacy.

Leave a Reply

