::HIGH FIVE:: I have a son!

Boys are a rarity in my family, and I didn’t expect to have a one. When the sonographer pointed out Truman’s little doink on the ultrasound, I was shocked, then baffled, then finally–elated.  A BOY, do what now?!? The idea of having a son never once crossed my mind.  As I thought about it though, I realized that it made COMPLETE SENSE.  Chad once told me that I look like a 12 year old boy, dress like a 12 year old boy, and act like a 12 year old boy.  Now, I don’t know what that says about his taste in women, but it tells me that I was meant to bro down with a son. Thanks to Facebook timeline, which I actually like because I can scroll through and find all the hilarious things I’ve ever said, I found this post I announcing Truman’s sex:

And hence, the prophecy has been fulfilled. A male heir has been graced upon the Evans Clan. Ser Chadrick is beside himself with mirth, thrilled at the thought of mentoring a young squire. Three cheers for young Truman, three cheers!

Three cheers indeed.  Never mind that he got mistaken for a girl four times last week.  So now, without a proper segue, I offer you a few reasons why I am glad I have a son.

  • In a few years  T will be able to sport a super rad Tony Hawk skater cut.  
http://cutcutpaste.wordpress.com/category/skateboarding-is-awesome/

SWOOOOON.

Chad rocked this haircut during the one of the most pivotal times of a boy’s life, ages 9-12. I didn’t know him then, but if I did, boy howdy would I have had the HUGEST crush on him.   11 year old Letty would have died at the mere sight of him nonchalantly brushing  his floppy blond hair out of his eyes.  I can’t wait for Truman’s cool period.  Chad is reluctant to bequeath his old Vision Street Wear cap with the brim flipped up, but he can pass down his awesomeness. Just for fun, courtesy of The Alamo Basement, a picture of the Pizza Hut truck from Gleaming the Cube.

  • Having a son gives me the perfect excuse to get a reptile.

In the third grade I had a pet newt, which I cleverly named Bob Newthart.  I will be the first to admit  it was not a very exciting pet. It just sat there.  Looking back, I probably should have gone with a more active amphibian, like a frog.  I wish I newt then what I newt now.  :/  Now that I have a son, I can totally get a snake! Or a turtle! Or even better–A CHAMELEON!  Herpetology gets me so pumped up I have to use fragments to express my glee. For the record, if I had a daughter I would use her just as well as an excuse to buy a reptile.  Child=reptile in my twisted mind.  On a side note, did you read about the snake that grew a hand? NO THANK YOU.

  • I can make Truman wear seersucker suits.  

OMG

I love seersucker suits.  I CANNOT WAIT TO PUT TRUMAN IN A SEERSUCKER SUIT.  I also love suspenders, plaid pants, and bow ties. Basically I want Truman to run around looking like a dapper southern gentleman who enjoys Mint Juleps.  Capote much?  I also wish Andre 3000 made clothing for children.  I want Truman to look so fresh and so clean, clean.  BTW, you can purchase a variety of seer sucker suits at Dapperlads, a name that makes me happy on several different levels.

I actually have several more reasons why I am grateful for the boy but I am hungry and I want to eat a burger*.  So to sum shit up, I am glad I have a son–especially one that is this damn cute:

*this post was written yesterday around 6 pm, AKA Burger Time.  I unfortunately do not have a burger to eat right now at 10:30 am, this may change in a few hours.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “::HIGH FIVE:: I have a son!

  1. tammymv says:

    That baby photo is to cute! I too was blessed with a son and I love every minute of it. The cute suits, dress shoes, the hats …. you name it and I love it lol.

    • Thanks for the comment! People always talk about dressing their girls in frilly dresses and bows, but they don’t realize how much fun it can be to dress a dashing young man.

      • tammymv says:

        That is so true. I eagerly await the time when I can help my son create his preppy or skater boy look or whatever it is he wants to dress like. 🙂 Overall it girl or boy its a great joy for me to be a parent. I love having my little baby boy …

  2. Julia says:

    I think that hat is why he’s being mistaken for a girl.

  3. He wants to be like Blossom.

  4. How cute is he!!!! I was made to have a girl, no question, or my poor son would be constantly in pink! But your son is cute enough to make me want one!

    Visiting from PMP Wandering Wednesday Hop!

    Warmesrt regards,
    Joy
    http://www.PardonMyPoppet.com

  5. Hi, I checked your blog. Your blog is lovely. I am now following your blog.

    Please spare time to check out our newly launched TTC/Parenting forums blog below and return the love by following us.

    Pregnancy Forum Blog —> Pregnancy Forum

  6. Scattered Musings of A Creative Mind says:

    I love your writing style!! I have 5 kiddies (boy, 3 girls, boy) so I guess I got my share of both, the frillies and froggies.

    Stopping by via the World Bloggers Community Hop Link up. I’ve followed you in the same networks we both have in common.

    http://www.scatteredmusings.net/2012/04/virgin-coconut-oil/

  7. localsugarhawaii says:

    Hilarious– and so charmingly cute– I’m sure your little man will look just dapper, just absolutely dapper.

    Aloha,
    Following ya back from The ALOHA Friday HOP!!! So glad you came by to “hop” along– I look forward to following your little boy and reptile adventures.

    xo,
    Nicole
    localsugarhawaii.com

Leave a Reply

