CORAL! CORAL! CORAL!

The above title was meant to be read like TORA! TORA! TORA!  because I am a giant dork.  Well, summer is upon us, and for me, that means a few  things:  boob sweat, sno-cones (I prefer Sno-Beach because I like to ogle the pretty high school girls who work there), and coral colored lips.  I am quite makeup savvy (no I’m not) and I like to coordinate my lip color with the seasons.  Come fall/winter I will probably write a post called Red, Red, Wine, or something stupid like that  highlighting my favorite deep, rich  lip colors.  But now, it is summer, and I like my lips to pop with a wash of bright color.  This year I have really been digging different shades of coral.  Tangerines and corals hues are EVERYWHERE this season, and I’ve found that in addition to being a shit ton of fun, they are also very flattering to my skin tone.

I CANNOT stop buying coral lip color. Just when I thought I was out, THEY PULL ME BACK IN.  I have about six or seven different coral lip products, varying from glosses to stains.  Of course I have favorites, so I have decided to share with you my favorite three shades of coral lip color in increasing intensity.  WARNING: Gratuitous pictures of my face are to follow, so if you don’t like gaze upon my visage– TURN BACK NOW.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Coral Reef

We will start mild, this is Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Coral Reef.  I remember seeing this gloss in a magazine and flipped my shit because I had to have it.  It is a go to lip gloss that goes well with everything and layers well over other colors.  It is pretty and natural.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous

Now we are getting a little more wild.  This coral is all like POP POP!  I guess this color is leaning more towards the orangey side than coral, but it’s still very pretty. I would wear this color to brunch and drink copious amounts of mimosas.  I must say, I am crazy in love with this balm stain.  It is refreshingly minty and the color really has staying power.  I also have it in Lovesick, a blinding hot pink shade.  Another product, Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Tutti Frutti achieves the same desired coraly effect.

Rimmel London Lasting Finish by Kate in 12

WHOA WHOA WHOA!  Who is this sassy lady with such beautiful bold lips?! This lip color is the equivalent ten thousand shoulder shimmies.  When I wear this lipstick I feel like muthafucking SHEILA E. living The Glamorous Life.  I love it, it is perfect for a debaucherous evening out with the ~ladiez~.  You could be dressed like a total slob but if you smear this all over your lips you will feel like a million bucks.  This lipstick also has the added bonus of being designed by Kate Moss.  No, it does not make your lips feel numb.

Well, that was the coral roundup.  I apologize for the quality of the photos, Chad wasn’t home so I had to take them myself Myspace style.  You would think after many vain years of taking photos of myself I would be better at it, but NOOOOOO.  Anyways, coral lips are fun, perfect for summer, and will look good on anyone.  Get your coral lipstick TODAY-AY-AY-AY ::fades out::

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “CORAL! CORAL! CORAL!

  1. kolleenbee says:

    I don’t know if I have any coral lipsticks… I don’t think it’s as flattering for someone like me, whose skin is the color of parchment paper 😦 I love it too, which is so DIFFICULT for me as a make-up slut. If I find one I’ll take a picture of myself in it and send it to you like you care or something.

  2. Naomi says:

    They all look great on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

