Gloves, Actually.

Over this last year, I’ve had the utmost pleasure of attending  Ladies’ Movies Night about once a month with some hilarious, and wonderful broads. My friend Lauren always hosts, and you couldn’t have a more gracious  hostess. She picks the movie, comes up with the culinary theme,  cooks us something delicious, and I usually end up leaving with something random from her apartment (previous items I have taken home: clothes, pickled green beans, photos of pre 9/11 and post 9/11 New York, and MORE!)

Some of our past cinematic adventures include Waiting to Exhale, the entirety of Trapped in the Closet, Mannequin, and The Craft. Our viewing of The Craft culminated in the creative of a coven, and a ritual dance to the most magical song we could think of–Africa by Toto.  Last month we watched Bridget Jones’ Diary.  We feasted on Digestives, gherkins, and Lauren made blue soup! I provided a giant bottle of Chardonnay, which I drank the majority of, then went home and threw up; but not before I shared an intimate moment with Hugh Grant.

Divine Brown eat your heart out.

While discussing my love for the bumbling and charming Hugh, it was discovered that I had not seen the movie, Love, Actually.  The other ladies were aghast, and we decided to take our movie night out of Lauren’s apartment to a screening of Love, Actually at Alamo Drafthouse.

It was Girlie Night at Alamo Drafthouse, meaning the audience was filled with giggling, sighing women, who cheered during their favorite scenes and booed when their least favorite characters were on the screen.  Not the ideal way to see a movie for the first time I suppose, but it was surprisingly enjoyable.

Love, Actually was a good movie.  I had a slight prejudice against it going in, only because it’s existence spawned such terrible knock offs (Valentine’s Day, New Year’s Eve, St. Patrick’s Day, Cinco de Mayo) but then I remembered that as far as comedies go, in general, British people do it better!  They are much less heavy handed than their American counterparts.  I was pleasantly surprised to see there were tits in the movie.  LAURA LINNEY’S TITS!  Do you know how long I’ve waited to see Laura Linney’s tits?  Basically my whole life.

The question that Love, Actually Lovers always seem to ask among themselves is, which is your favorite story line?  It’s hard to choose. It was all very well acted, Emma Thompson was heartbreaking, and everything that Martin Freeman does is gold. I think I may have liked James (Colin Firth) and Aurelia (Lucia Moniz) the best, partially because I love Colin Firth, and partially because I think Portuguese is a funny language.

I of course also enjoyed the David (Hugh Grant) and Natalie (Martine McCutcheon) storyline, for the sheer Hugh Grantness of it all.  It tickled me that “Jump” by the Pointer Sisters seemed to be his theme song.

What else can I say?  It was a well crafted movie!  I have to admit I was a little distracted because I was sitting next to Margaret,  and she says the most ridiculous things, causing me to cackle like a witch at inopportune times. But even her hilarious comments couldn’t keep the clips of people reuniting at Heathrow from tugging at my heartstrings.  It reminded me of when Chad and I were in a long distance relationship early in our romance.  I remember the first time I flew out to LA to see him. He greeted me at the airport with a hand painted sign and a ridiculously large African flower he found at some florist.  I will never forget how he swallowed me up in a hug and literally swept me off my feet. As I collected my luggage I had to wipe happy tears from my face, and I couldn’t stop grinning like a goon. Love, AMIRITE?! (that was the original working title)

Perhaps though, the best thing I gained from watching Love, Actually, due to Billy Mack, and “Christmas is All Around”, is that I have had The Troggs’ “Love is All Around” stuck in my head for days.

This is a good, good thing.  To hear Lauren’s lovely and eloquent thoughts on Love, Actually, please read HERE, and remember love is all around, bitches.

2 thoughts on “Gloves, Actually.

  1. love love love your re-cap… am only saddened that I am never included is such fun outings 😉

Leave a Reply

