Shoulder Pads and Attitude

It’s Sunday.  Mother’s Day. ::pats self on back::  I have a terrible earache, but I just woke up an hour ago, so I already count this day as a success. Today’s blog prompt is “What do you miss?”  Well, I miss a lot of things.  I miss having super perky breasts.  I miss eating sugary cereal and watching Jem and Holograms in the morning.  I miss when Christian Slater’s face looked normal.  But mostly I miss when there were strong, bad ass bitches on television who wore shoulder pads.

Let’s take a look at some great moments from my favorite beshoulderpadded ladies.

There are so MANY amazing Julia Sugarbaker moments to choose from, so I decided to just pick one short one.  I don’t want to take up your entire day.  You are supposed to be spending it with family or some shit.

Clair Huxtable is one of my all time role models.  If only for her eye shadow application alone. Michelle Obama needs to take a page from Clair’s book and bust out the power suits.  Like Julia, there were countless videos to choose from, but always love when she gives Elvin a proper dressing down.

Murphy Brown was such a bad ass that the VICE PRESIDENT of the United States had his dick all twisted in a knot over her. Get it girl.

Dorothy Petrillo Zbornak Hollingsworth is my spirit animal.  That is all.

Now, I am not saying there are not strong female role models on television today, there definitely are.  But these women have a fierceness that hasn’t been duplicated.   My main girl Leslie Knope comes close.  All she needs is the pads.

The best! I think these clips should be required viewing for middle school girls. Who else do you think belongs on this list?  Let me know what you think, and Happy Mother’s Day!



 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Shoulder Pads and Attitude

  1. Love your post and totally agreet! Julia Sugarbaker and Dorothy Patrillo….LOVE them! I also loved Sophia, Dorothy’s even sassier mom. Spirited, feisty, and didn’t take any sh)#! Another of my favorites were some of the ladies from Knotts Landing. Ah, the 80’s….tv at its finest.

  2. Steph says:

    LOVE THIS!

Leave a Reply

